Write about what you don’t know

You always read in writers magazines to write about what you know. Which I agree with when you’re first starting out and need low hanging fruit topics. I did that. But once you go through what you know it’s time to move on to what you don’t.

I write an educational series for K-12 educators, homeschool and traditional. I usually know very little about the topics I choose to write about. That’s what makes it fun for me. I get to learn really fun things. I am one of those people who really likes doing research. So then when I write about the topic my excitement about the learning comes through.

This is your opportunity to learn about things you’ve wanted to know about. Go to the library and walk the aisle. Like you really needed an excuse to go to the library, but now you have one. Get on the internet and look around. There is a lot of fun stuff out there to write about.

As a reminder, the Poem a Day Challenge starts on April 1st. We’ll have daily prompts here if you want to join in.

Have a great day.

 

Leave a Reply

