Poem a Day Challenge Day 1

Welcome to the first day of the Poem a Day Challenge. For the next thirty days I’ll post a prompt and my attempt at it, to celebrate Poetry Month. I hope you enjoy the challenge, good luck and have fun.

Prompt – Getting Goose Bumps

My attempt

Why I Love Tartans

Green rolling hills

Broken stone walls scattered about

A well-trodden dirt path

To an unseen castle ruin

Faint on the breeze you can hear there mournful sound.

Louder and louder the song came to ear

Over the ridge they did appear

The marchers played their pipes

Together as one

No matter your clan

Did not matter today

All tartans were there

No one forgotten

The force of a hundred bag pipes

Pounded your ears

Goosebumps rise upon your arms

And along your spine

A tear upon your cheek

The sweet music of years gone by

No fighting this day

All united

The sight of tartans in review as they all march by

Your eyes close, breathing in the sound in the air

When your eyes open they are gone

Only their memory remains

 

I hope you enjoyed my poem to the prompt. Good luck with your poem today and I hope to see it posted here.

Have a great day and see you tomorrow.

Don’t forget about our face book page www.facebook.com/thestarvingwriterblog

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Good Luck, I will be following, a good start, be interesting to see the development over the next month. I finished my 365 challenge in November so feel free to check that one out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

