SMART Writing Goals

SMART Writing Goals

Every month I get together with my goal setting group to share my goals. I put a lot of thought into what I want to accomplish with my writing. I love writing, but it’s also my job. So I have to be intentional about my writing.

Here is how I approach my goal setting. I write SMART goals. SMART stands for specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely.

Here is an example

Goal is to finish complete polished draft of Amazing but True – Full Moon by end of month and submit to editor for publication.

Is the goal specific? Yes, I have laid out exactly what needs to be done.

Is it measurable? Yes, I can measure my progress by what I’m editing and re-writing.

Is it attainable? Yes, in this case I already have a finished first draft. If I was starting from scratch this goal would be a stretch to make.

Is it realistic? Yes, again since I have the finished first draft. If it was from scratch then this goal wouldn’t be realistic.

Is it timely? Yes, this is a short term goal. I can complete in a timely manner.

Using this method I can set goals I know are doable. Doesn’t mean there isn’t going to be tons of work but they are doable.

When setting a goal you want to remember to set a goal you have control over. I’m in 100% control of finishing my book. If my goal was to sell ten articles this month. That wouldn’t be in my control. The editors decide what they’re going to purchase. I only can control what I write and submit. So to modify that goal, my goal is to submit ten articles to magazines this month.

I hope this insight into goal setting has been helpful. I practically live by my monthly goal sheet.

Have a great day.

3 responses to this post.

  1. […] SMART Writing Goals (thestarvingwriterblog.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  2. […] SMART Writing Goals (thestarvingwriterblog.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  3. […] SMART Writing Goals (thestarvingwriterblog.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

