Author Interview with Norman Oro

Norman Oro

Author The Legend of Team 9

Author Interview Norman Oro

I’d like to thank Norman for sitting down with me for this interview.

Tell us a little about yourself and your background?

I’m Filipino-American and came to the United States when I was three years old. I loved science fiction growing up and still do. I’m 42 years old now (where does the time go?) and worked for over 10 years in Corporate America doing accounting, finance, economics and business development. I went to UCLA as an undergraduate and studied business at MIT Sloan.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I’d been doing consulting work in finance when the bottom fell out of the job market. I’ve always wanted to write a book, so rather than waiting by the phone, I decided to spend that time pursuing a dream.

What inspired you to write The Legend of Team 9?

Difficult to say. It just kind of happened. As with my first two books, Away: Beginnings and Away: Keepers of the Alliance, The Legend of Team 9 felt almost like it wrote itself. It was as though the story came to me demanding that I write it. Of course, I couldn’t turn it down.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not a message per se. The book does deal with loss. Specifically, it deals with losing something that underpins how a society functions. I wouldn’t say, though, that the reader needs to grasp that. Mostly I just hope people enjoy The Legend of Team 9 as a science fiction adventure story. However, if they can find deeper meanings within the story that make the book more enjoyable for them, I’m all for it.

Give us an insight into your main character. What do they do that is special?

The central characters are, of course, Team 9: Richard Redding, Ingrid Grace, Bobby Gentry and Jimmy Foyer. They’re a group of explorers. Among them, Richard is the main character. What they manage to do in the book is confront a threat to their society at considerable risk to themselves. In the process, they display an admirable degree of altruism and courage. Dr. Marshall is also important as a main character to provide continuity with my other two books. He’s a man of science, who’s troubled by his involvement in developing an incredibly destructive weapon. It’s not explicit, but during the course of the story, he exorcises some of those demons.

What are your current projects?

I’m taking a break from writing for now. I avoid watching sci-fi movies and often movies in general when I’m writing, so I’m going to the local cineplex quite a bit these days. I also plan on catching a ballgame at Citifield this season and am toying with writing an app (a hobby of mine). As before, I’m seeking consulting work in finance, which I still enjoy. In the meantime, if a book idea seizes me, I’ll probably write another story.

Why do you write?

Because there are science fiction stories out there that I’ve always wanted to read, but for whatever reason they haven’t been written yet.

What is the hardest thing about writing?

Proofing. To be honest, it can be arduous and tedious, but it’s very important to me that my work shows polish. Being a self-published author makes this especially important.

What is the easiest thing about writing?

Ironically, the story itself comes pretty easily, at least for my first three books. In very general terms, they’re almost fully formed by the time I start. I don’t know if that’ll always be the case, but that’s been my experience so far.

Do you ever experience writers block?

Sometimes. Sometimes it seems there are too many ways a story can go and I don’t know which one will yield the best arc.

What is your favorite go to recipe?

I don’t really cook these days, so if I had to bring something to a party, I’d probably go out to the supermarket and get a pie, either apple or pumpkin. Those are some of my favorites. Not particularly exotic, but appealing to most everyone. If the people at the party liked Filipino food, I’d call a catering place and order some adobo. It’s a Filipino dish usually made with pork or chicken in a broth of garlic, soy sauce and vinegar. I haven’t eaten adobo in ages, but it’s another favorite of mine.

I want to thank Norman again for taking the time to sit down and answer these questions for us. To learn more about Norman and his books, Click HERE.

One response to this post.

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

